If I Could Make Someone I Cared About Read 4 Books….

This weekend, I have my first meeting with the 2011 class of AP Life. Playing on the classes students take to put themselves further ahead upon arriving in college, this group of 12 students commits a significant amount of time during the summer to reading and scripture memorization. As part of this program I got to select 4 books for this amazing group of students to read… Here is what I picked and why.

1. Knowledge of the Holy by A.W. Tozer – I wanted to have something classic. Also something short by necessitating thought. I wanted something deep. I was hoping for something there grandfather and grandchild was/would be likely to read. This book is all of that and more.
2. The Next Christians by Gabe Lyons – This book was the most troubling and intriguing book I read in the last year. A really good pot stirrer to get these students thinking about their place and responsibility in the world.
3. No Compromise by Melody Green – The lift story of singer Keith Green is life changing. I have convinced dozens of people to read it and have never anything other than rave reviews. He wrote “radical” long before David Platt got the idea. :)
4. Prodigal God by Tim Keller – A strong framing of the non-religious gospel for a group of ‘church’ kids.

If you could make a group of teenagers read 4 books, what would they be?

About brothersmacdonald

we are brothers. we love Jesus, students, each other, music, reality tv, and creativity. these are our thoughts. we work at Harvest Bible Chapel in Rolling Meadows, Illinois. And yes, he is our dad.
This entry was posted in book reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to If I Could Make Someone I Cared About Read 4 Books….

  1. Linda says:

    preteens through teens I would and have had them read Preparing For Adolescence by James Dobson. It’s helped my teens and a few of their friends, understand what they were going through without making those tumultuous feelings become a permanent part of their character.

    Knowledge of the Holy or The Pursuit of God – A.W. Tozer
    must read classics

    The Deadliest Monster – J.F. Baldwin

    and if they haven’t already, Mere Christianity, C.S. Lewis or

    some fiction Space Trilogy (The Hideous Strength; Perelandra; Out of the Silent Planet) by C.S. Lewis.
    or
    Sean had me read Ted Dekker’s “Black” which surprised me.

  2. landon says:

    probably no compromise 4 times

    • linda says:

      Have just finished reading ‘No Compromise’. Took me awhile to get to it but what am amazing life lived for Christ.
      Keith Green’s search 4 Truth reminded me of my beginning search as a teen. Dabbling in various belief systems n philosophies n finding them all lacking then empty but after that his pursuit of God was inspiring convicting.
      I’m getting audiobook for family to listen to together n share.

  3. Renee says:

    3 of your 4 might make my top 4 anyway. but, to change it up, here are 4 others…
    1. Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire (Jim Cymbala)
    2. The Hiding Place (Corrie ten Boom)
    3. The Pursuit of God (A.W. Tozer)
    4. How to Pray (R.A. Torrey)

    except that “No Compromise” is, hands down, one of the best books ever, so i might just defer to Landon’s suggestion.

    • Linda says:

      ah! thanks Renee for clarifying Landon’s post. Have put “No Compromise: The Life Story of Keith Green” on my list to read. The Hiding Place is haunting; Ms Boom is one of those I hope to spend time with in heaven to learn in more details of God’s grace in her life. Amazing story!

  4. TONY says:

    GEORGE MULLER’S BIOGRAPHY
    DON’T WASTE YOUR LIFE (JOHN PIPER)
    TREASURE PRINCIPLE (RANDY ALCORN)
    SUN STAND STILL (STEVEN FURTICK)

Leave a Reply

