April – June Book Reviews.

Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia (Chronicles of Narnia, #4)Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia by C.S. Lewis

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A beautiful story that metaphorically teaches the lifelong lesson of following God’s lead no matter. This comment from Aslan the lion has stuck with me, “No one ever finds out what would have happened, but you are always free to find out what will happen.’

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (Chronicles of Narnia, #5)The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A strong installment in the series is highlighted by Eustace turning into a dragon and desperately trying to shed his skin. He is able to only when Aslan does it for him. The symbolism of Christ’s removal of our sin is the best part of the journey to the end of the world.

The Silver Chair (Chronicles of Narnia, #6)The Silver Chair by C.S. Lewis

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Although probably the most lackluster in the series, I was blessed this tale of the power of sin to bind and destroy us.

View all my reviews

Vision: Lost and Found: The Story Of A Church That Got Stuck but Didn't Stay ThereVision: Lost and Found: The Story Of A Church That Got Stuck but Didn’t Stay There by Tim Stevens

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I loved the heart behind this book. The goal of continuing to grow and being willing to follow God’s leading in your church is worthy of commendation. However, that this church was not guided by scripture in there changes in any way deemed worthy of mentioning is a problem that is hard to ignore.

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

As good as fiction gets. A clever premise, unusual characters, and a riveting story make a true page turner. There is a reason this series is such phenomenon. The writing is crisp and clear. Anyone would enjoy this book.

View all my reviews

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The middle book in the series continues the quick pace and desperation of the first book. I don’t that I have ever read fiction that so vividly puts the reader in the characters shoes. A great sequel.

View all my reviews
Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I found the final book in the series a disappointment. The overly political anti-establishment vibe gets a little wearisome when seen through the eyes of teenagers. It is worth reading to get the scope of the series, but is not the thriller the first two books are.

View all my reviews

About brothersmacdonald

we are brothers. we love Jesus, students, each other, music, reality tv, and creativity. these are our thoughts. we work at Harvest Bible Chapel in Rolling Meadows, Illinois. And yes, he is our dad.
This entry was posted in book reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

