Prayer + Preparation.

Our summer camp for Harvest HS is coming up in a few weeks. This will be my 5th year overseeing the camp itself and that is after 4 years of leading worship at it. Over time I have seen this summer camp do amazing things in so many peoples lives. I remember lots of moments of transformation for students I love and I remember even more that have marked me forever.  So many legendary things have happened both sacred and just plain fun …

-the night I burned the wall of sins to illustrate what grace does.

-middle of the night slip-n-slide + pop tarts.

-the time we smashed idols all together.

-the silent sermon.

and on and on and on it goes.

I was reading the Bible this morning and was reminded that every year I get to week of the camp and in the flurry of recruiting sign-ups, planning messages, organizing cabins, and dealing with last minute drama, I always get to the end and wish I would have prayed more. and I hate that feeling. The feeling that God was willing and desirous to do more, but we left some of what He wanted to do on the table due to a lack of discipline or faith.

Rather than bemoan the past, I have decided to make this year  different. For the next few weeks until we leave for ‘The War,’ there will be a lot of intentional + expectant interceding for God to do something fresh and something new and something beautiful. Why?

Mathew 21.22 And whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith.”

About brothersmacdonald

we are brothers. we love Jesus, students, each other, music, reality tv, and creativity. these are our thoughts. we work at Harvest Bible Chapel in Rolling Meadows, Illinois. And yes, he is our dad.
This entry was posted in youth ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prayer + Preparation.

  1. Seek Truth says:

    (13) “I” or “me”
    (03) “God” or “He”

Leave a Reply

